Thursday 19th September 2019
x-pressed | an open journal
December 24, 2013
December 24, 2013

150 Réfugiés Syriens Disparus dans le Nord de la Grèce

Author: Anna Papoutsi Translator: Margarita Papantoniou
Category: Borders
This article is also available in: elenesitru
150 Réfugiés Syriens Disparus dans le Nord de la Grèce

Personne n`est illégal

Un nombre de 150 réfugiés syriens sont disparus depuis le 12 novembre dans le nord de la Grèce, selon le Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies (HCR). Parmi ces réfugiés, il y avait des familles entières avec des enfants qui essayaient de s`échapper de l`atrocité de la guerre civile dans leur pays.

Les autorités grecques et la police nient toute implication et connaissance en ce qui concerne leur destin.

D`après les habitants de la région, le 12 novembre, un nombre de 70-80 réfugiés étaient localisés dehors d`une église au village Prangi à Evros, tandis qu`encore 80-90 se cachaient dans les bois voisins. Les témoins confirment que les réfugiés ont été arrêtés par la police, malgré le refus des autorités policières de convenir de l`incident à tous les niveaux.

Cependant, aucun d`entre eux n’est jamais arrivé au Centre d`Accueil des Réfugiés local afin d`être enregistré et d`être soumis aux procédures prévues de la loi.

Conformément aux dispositions de la loi 3907/2011, les immigrants venus des pays tiers doivent être soumis aux procédures de la Première Entrée pour leur enregistrement et identification corrects, pour le contrôle de leur condition afin de répondre à leurs besoins fondamentaux, avant toute décision est prise pour des actions administratives ultérieures.

Malheureusement, il est connu que la police renvoie illégalement des réfugiés et des immigrants à leur pays d`origine, en les exposant à un risque élevé, et en utilisant souvent des méthodes qui atteignent le point de la torture. Ce n`est pas seulement contraire à l`éthique, mais aussi illégal, pour ne pas mentionner que cette pratique empêche les immigrants et les réfugiés de demander asile.

Ces pratiques résultent directement des échelons supérieurs de la police, comme révélé par un document audio choquant, dans lequel on peut clairement entendre le Chef de la Police dire à ses officiers: “Nous devons leur rendre la vie impossible.”

Le Haut Commissariat de l`ONU a demandé qu`une investigation sur le sujet de la disparition de ces personnes aux frontières de la Grèce sera faite…

Creative Commons License
150 Réfugiés Syriens Disparus dans le Nord de la Grèce by Anna Papoutsi is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

This article is also available in:

Translate this in your language

Like this Article? Share it!

Leave A Response

Tuesday 21st November 2017
x-pressed | an open journal
December 24, 2013
December 24, 2013

150 Syrian refugees missing in northern Greece

Author: Anna Papoutsi
Category: Borders
This article is also available in: elesfritru
150 Syrian refugees missing in northern Greece

150 Syrian refugees are missing since the 12th of November in northern Greece, according to the UN Refugee Agency. Among them, there were entire families with children, fleeing from the horror of the civil war in their country.

The Greek Authorities and the Police refuse any involvement and knowledge of their whereabouts.

According to the locals, on the 12th of November, 70-80 refugees were spotted outside a church in the village of Pragi while 80-90 more were hiding in the nearby woods. The witnesses also positively confirm that, despite the denial of the police authorities in all levels to acknowledge the incident, the refugees were detained by the police.

However, none of them made it to the local Centre for Refugees in order to be registered and processed accordingly.

Based on the provisions of the 3907/2011 Law, migrants from third countries should undergo the First Entry procedures for the proper recording and identification, verification of their situation and for meeting their basic needs, before any decision is made for further administrative action.

Unfortunately, the police is known to illegally turn refugees and migrants back to where they came from, often putting them at great risk and using methods that reach the point of torture. This is not only immoral but also illegal, not to mention that it prevents migrants and refugees to even apply for asylum.

These practices are sanctioned directly by the higher echelons of the Police, as it was revealed by the shocking audio last week, in which the Chief of the National Police is clearly heard stating to his officers that “We have to make their life impossible”.

The UN Refugee Agency has requested an investigation into the matter of the disappearance of these people in the borders of Greece…

Creative Commons License
150 Syrian refugees missing in northern Greece by Anna Papoutsi is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

This article is also available in:

Translate this in your language

Like this Article? Share it!

Leave A Response