Friday 06th December 2019
x-pressed | an open journal
February 24, 2014
February 24, 2014

Espagne: Étudiant si tu ne te bats pas, personne ne t´entendra

Author: Ismael Guye Sancho Translator: Tania P.
Category: Letters from home
This article is also available in: esenelpt-pt
Espagne: Étudiant si tu ne te bats pas, personne ne t´entendra

Photos: Ismael Guye Sancho

Hausse des taux, réduction des bourses, réduction des enseignants, augmentation des heures de travail, réduction du budget public, recherche de fonds privés, perte d´autorité des établissements d’enseignement. L’éducation se transforme en un champ de bataille, en terre inhospitalière.

Un pays qui a perdu au cours des quatre dernières années le 16.7 % de son budget, précisément: 7.298.000€. S’y ajoutent les coupes de 536.6 millions euros en 2014 qui rallongent la liste des coupes effectuées depuis mai 2010 (avec la première baisse des salaires de 5% pour les enseignants) par les communautés autonomes et le ministère: suppression des travaux d’infrastructures, réduction des bourses, réduction des coûts de fonctionnement… Castilla-La Mancha (avec une réduction de 31.1% depuis 2010), le Ministère de l’éducation (avec une réduction de 30.4%) et la Catalogne (avec une réduction de 24%) arrivent en tête de la liste des coupes. En même temps, les coupes de l’éducation publique catalane (d’environ 1.076 millions d’euros) ont réduit le budget de 2014 pour le ministère de l’Éducation à 4.147.000€.

Cela a  directement affecté le corps professoral (composé cette année de 68.969 enseignants, 2.681 de moins  qu’il y a deux ans) et les dépenses universitaires (entre 2012 et 2014 les dépenses pour l’enseignement supérieur ont été réduits à 16.6%, atteignant les 763,5 millions d’euros pour 2014).

Mais nous sommes plus que des chiffres.

Nous sommes des cours surpeuplés où un tutoriel est presque impossible, des infrastructures décadentes qui ne peuvent pas être rénovées, de bons enseignants qui disparaissent, des assistances obligatoires empêchant de combiner les études à un emploi, des modules et du travail qui exigent que nous soyons simplement productifs, des universités aux autorités privées, des universités qui ne forment plus la pensée critique… Nous sommes des frais de scolarité de plus en plus chers, nous sommes moins de bourses, nous sommes des familles noyées, des fins de mois de plus en plus difficiles, des heures d’étude et des jours dans l’Université, du travail d’été, de week-end, de semaine, de nuit ou de n’importe quand, sinon je ne peux pas payer… Nous sommes des rêves qui se brisent, des étudiants qui sont obligés de quitter ou émigrer.

Nous sommes des grèves et des manifestations, des protestations, de la solidarité, du soutien…

Mais plus que tout autre, nous sommes des personnes, des personnes à la recherche d’une vie et à la recherche de la liberté, des gens qui veulent construire leurs rêves. L’espoir n’est pas perdu, la construction de l’avenir est entre nos mains.

Creative Commons License
Espagne: Étudiant si tu ne te bats pas, personne ne t´entendra by Ismael Guye Sancho is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

This article is also available in:

Translate this in your language

Like this Article? Share it!

Leave A Response

Tuesday 23rd July 2019
x-pressed | an open journal
February 24, 2014
February 24, 2014

Spain: Student if you don’t fight, nobody will listen to you

Category: Letters from home
This article is also available in: eselfrpt-pt
Spain: Student if you don’t fight, nobody will listen to you

Photos: Ismael Guye Sancho

Increased interest rates, reduced scholarships, reduced faculties, increased working hours, reduced state budget, seeking private funding, loss of power in educational bodies… Education is transformed into a battlefield οn inhospitable land.

A land that has lost 16.7% of its budget in the last four years, or in other words: €7.298 million. And further cuts of €536.6 million in 2014 adding up to the long list of cuts that have been implemented by the autonomous communities and the ministry since May 2010 (with the first drop in salary for teachers by 5%): elimination of  infrastructure works, reduced scholarships, reduced public spending… Castilla- La Mancha (with 31.1% of reduction since 2010), the Ministry of Education (with 30.4%) and Catalonia (with 24%) are at the top of the list of cuts.

Meanwhile, the cuts in the Catalan public education (about €1,076 million) have left the budget of the Department of Education for 2014 at €4.147 million. This has directly affected the teaching staff (which this year consists of 68,969 professors, 2,681 less than two years ago) and public expenditure for universities (between 2012 and 2014 public spending on higher education has been reduced by 16.6% reaching €763.5 million for 2014).

But we’re more than numbers

We are overcrowded classes in which teaching is almost impossible, we are decaying infrastructure that cannot be renewed, we are good teachers that disappear, we are compulsory attendances that make the combination of studies and work impossible, we are courses and essays that only seek productivity, we are private universities, universities that no longer foster critical thinking… We are increasingly expensive tuition, less scholarships, we are families that are drowning, months that are increasingly difficult, we are hours of study and days at the uni, we are work in the summer, on the weekend, during the week, at night or whenever, if not I cannot pay… We are dreams that are broken, students that are forced to leave their studies or emigrate.

We are strikes and demonstrations, protests, we are solidarity, support…

But above all we are people, people in search of a life and in search of freedom, people who want to build their dreams. The hope is not lost, building the future is in our hands.

Creative Commons License
Spain: Student if you don’t fight, nobody will listen to you by Ismael Guye Sancho is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

This article is also available in:

Translate this in your language

Like this Article? Share it!

Leave A Response