Friday 22nd November 2019
x-pressed | an open journal
December 12, 2013
December 12, 2013

Ukraine: Jours de Décisions, Jours de Lutte

Source: Left Open  Category: Protest
This article is also available in: elenesru
Ukraine: Jours de Décisions, Jours de Lutte

Ce qui se passe actuellement en Ukraine correspond de plus en plus à la définition classique d’une situation révolutionnaire. Le mouvement de masse, une fois dans les rues, est prêt à se défendre dans les dures confrontations avec la police. Les slogans, qui ont initialement donné naissance au mouvement, ont cédé la place à la question principale de toute révolution: la question du pouvoir. Les hésitations et la désunion pratiquement flagrante au sein des élites, l’adhésion des leaders mondiaux à l’une ou l’autre des parties, les négociations de derrière les coulisses, les complots et les manipulations médiatiques dépendent tous du mouvement, de sa dynamique, de sa volonté d’aller jusqu’au bout. Cette étrange révolution n’a aucun projet alternatif à offrir -ni politiquement ni socialement. Mais elle existe en tant que processus et ses participants, comme les participants de toute révolution, ressentent leur rôle dans l’histoire, ici et maintenant.

detail_dc98d133221fc013f63ac9f6eeca8362-2

Tout cela est vrai, et c’est pourquoi nous n’avons pas de raisons d’être optimistes. Car l’autre facette de l’histoire est que, en cas de victoire, la révolution fera naître un gouvernement de coalition de droite et d’extrême-droite et l’Ukraine risque de devenir la plus grosse tache sur la carte de l’Europe de l’Est qui tend déjà vers la droite. Au lieu de se battre pour leurs droits et d’améliorer collectivement leurs vies réelles, les citoyens de ce pauvre pays, aigris par la corruption et le non-respect de la loi, agitent des drapeaux nationaux dans une extase balourde et se battent au moyen de symboles d’un passé lointain.

Cette irrationalité incontestable de la situation ukrainienne sert d’excellente excuse pour la passivité de ceux qui ont tendance à voir dans les révolutions avant tout l’action des peuples opprimés pour la réalisation ultime de leurs «intérêts objectifs». Nous avons devant nous, sans aucun doute,  une révolution «incorrecte» et par conséquent condamnée, qui ne cesse néanmoins d’être une révolution. Les illusions de ses participants, aussi absurdes qu’elles puissent l’être, ne sont pas un simple résultat d’une descente collective dans la folie, mais sont un produit logique de la société qui leur a donné naissance.

pic_59f6f7ba4fd09bab154dea4dd528efc3

Des commentateurs gauchistes ont pertinemment et abondamment écrit que la signature de l’accord de libre-échange entre l’Ukraine et l’UE va détruire l’industrie de l’Ukraine, en même temps que des milliers de lieux de travail et,  dans son sillage, les gens ordinaires vont se retrouver pris en otage dans les conflits d’intérêts des clans de la bourgeoisie. De telles analyses, cependant, relèguent souvent l’idéologie à un rôle secondaire, à une simple expression de la «fausse conscience».  Mais quand il s’agit du contenu du processus révolutionnaire – et d’autant plus, de la lutte pour ce contenu – les questions idéologiques deviennent centrales. Dans les sociétés post-soviétiques, où la fragmentation sociale a atteint sa limite, les espoirs d’une solidarité politique, d’une certaine forme de coopération au sein des peuples, sont nés littéralement des déchets. Le problème ne réside pas simplement dans la dégénérescence du système éducatif ou l’empoisonnement de la culture politique par la corruption et le mensonge depuis de nombreuses décennies. L’absurdité des  «demandes sociales» à la fois à Moscou en 2011 et à Kiev en 2013 -et ce paradoxe disgracieux a souvent été noté par des militants de gauche, qui ont constamment tenté de les «introduire»-  est reliée à l’œuvre destructrice du marché néolibéral triomphant. La destruction se propage bien au-delà de l’économie: elle s’étend dans la conscience collective, dans notre capacité à faire confiance les uns aux autres et à agir ensemble. Cette confiance fondée sur des intérêts communs a été remplacée par la vague nostalgie d’une telle confiance, par l’épuisement rebelle de tout un chacun par sa propre suspicion ou par la logique de la concurrence, qui a pénétré tous les aspects de la vie quotidienne. Cet épuisement est reflété par le langage politique de l’Euromaidan –il ne s’agit pas de la politique idéale d’égalité et de justice, mais la seule politique populaire disponible en Ukraine d’aujourd’hui.

Dans son analyse perspicace, l’activiste ukrainienne Olga Papash s’interroge sur la bonne coexistence des slogans de l’Eurointegration et d’une rhétorique atavique du nationalisme ethnique. Elle révèle le lieu où ces idéologies mutuellement exclusives en apparence convergent et donnent naissance à cette étrange synthèse qui anime actuellement les manifestations ukrainiennes. C’est là le vecteur, loin de Moscou, qui unit la tradition séculaire du nationalisme ukrainien (pas nécessairement réactionnaire, mais anti-impérialiste, émancipatrice), la constante de l’élite ukrainienne post-soviétique, qui a cherché à travers sa politique de nationalisation de la vie à se légitimer aux yeux de ses sujets, et enfin, les craintes parfaitement fondées de l’agressivité des sociétés russes et du pouvoir autoritaire du Kremlin, qui les sert. Au cours de la dernière décennie, l’agression croissante des élites russes, leurs efforts pour inscrire l’Ukraine dans la sphère de leurs intérêts commerciaux, parfois exprimés par la propagande (russe) chauvine, a quasi délibérément réveillé tous les mythes du nationalisme ukrainien.

Aujourd’hui, la question de l’anéantissement de  l’hégémonie nationaliste en Ukraine est directement liée à l’aptitude des forces russes de gauche et progressistes à représenter une autre Russie, une Russie, incarnant les idéaux de la véritable démocratie, l’égalité et la libération sociale, qui à l’époque définissaient aussi le mouvement pour la libération ukrainienne. C’est précisément cette version du «patriotisme progressiste» qui offre, à mon avis, la meilleure opportunité à nos camarades ukrainiens. Après tout, des slogans tels que «Communistes – sur la potence!» et «Mort à l’ennemi!» (deux des slogans les plus fréquemment chantés lors de l’Euromaidan) ne représentent pas une continuation légitime de la tradition d’Ivan Franko, Vladimir Vinnichenko, ou Mikola Khvylovy.

Le deuxième volet du centaure idéologique de l’aile droite de l’opposition ukrainienne -la revendication de la démocratie, du contrôle par le peuple et de la transparence- doit également être contesté par la gauche. C’est précisément par le biais de la démocratie directe que nous devons contester les réclamations du triumvirat Iatseniouk-Klichko-Tyahnynibok de monopoliser le mouvement ainsi que la censure physique mise en œuvre par les commandos du parti ultra-nationaliste Liberté.

 

This article is also available in:

Translate this in your language

Like this Article? Share it!

Leave A Response

Sunday 25th August 2019
x-pressed | an open journal
December 12, 2013
December 12, 2013

Ukraine: Days of Decisions, Days of Struggle

Author: Ilya Budraitskis Translator: Left East
Source: Left Open  Category: Protest
This article is also available in: elesfrru
Ukraine: Days of Decisions, Days of Struggle

What is happening in Ukraine right now increasingly corresponds to the classical definition of a revolutionary situation. The mass movement, once it has come out in the streets, is ready to defend them in harsh confrontations with the police. The slogans, which initially gave birth to the movement, have now given way to the main question of any revolution—the question of power. Hesitations and practically open disunity within the elites, world leaders’ involvement on this or that side, behind-the-scenes negotiations, conspiracies and mass media manipulations all depend on the movement, on its dynamics, on its readiness to go to the last consequence. This strange revolution has no alternative project to offer—neither politically nor socially. But it exists as a process and its participants, as the participants of any revolution, experience their role in history here and now.

detail_dc98d133221fc013f63ac9f6eeca8362-2

All of this is true — and this is why we have no cause for optimism. For the other part of the story is that, if victorious, the revolution will bring forth a coalition government of rightists and ultra-rightists and Ukraine risks becoming the biggest brown spot on the map of the already right-leaning Eastern Europe. Instead of fighting for their rights and collectively improving their actual lives, the citizens of this poor country, embittered by corruption and lawlessness, have been waving national flags in dumb ecstasy and battling with the symbols of a distant past.

This indisputable irrationality of the Ukrainian situation serves as the best excuse for the passivity of those who tend to see in revolutions primarily the act of the oppressed people’s ultimate realization of their “objective interests.” Before us, without doubt, we have an “incorrect” and thus doomed revolution, which nevertheless does not cease to be a revolution. The illusions of its participants, however nonsensical they may be, aren’t a mere result of a collective descent into madness, but are a logical product of the society that gave birth to them.

pic_59f6f7ba4fd09bab154dea4dd528efc3

Leftists commentators have justly and copiously written that Ukraine’s signing the EU free trade agreement will destroy Ukraine’s industry, together with thousands of workplaces, and in its aftermath, ordinary people will find themselves hostages in the conflicts of interests of bourgeois clans. Such analyses, however, often relegate ideology to a secondary role, to a mere expression of “false consciousness.” But when it comes to the content of the revolutionary process—and moreover, to the struggle for this content,–ideological questions become central. In post-Soviet societies, where social fragmentation has reached its possible limit, hopes for political solidarity, for some form of cooperation among people, are born out quite literally out of trash. The problem lies not merely in the degenerating educational system or the political culture poisoned by corruption and lies for many decades now. The unnaturalness of “social demands” to both Moscow of 2011 and Kiev of 2013—and this unsightly paradox has been frequently noted by leftist activists, who have persistently attempt to “introduce” them—is connected with the destructive work of the triumphant neoliberal market. The destruction spreads well beyond the economy: it extends into to collective consciousness, into our ability to trust each other and act together. This trust founded on common interests has been replaced by a vague nostalgia for such a trust, by rebellious exhaustion from one’s own suspicion or from the logic of competition, which has penetrated all aspects of everyday life. This exhaustion finds expression in the political language of the Euromaydan—not the ideal politics of equality and justice but the only politics popularly available in today’s Ukraine.

In her perceptive analysis, the Ukrainian activist Olga Papash wonders about the smooth coexistence of the slogans of Eurointegration and an atavistic rhetoric of ethnic nationalism. She reveals the point where these seemingly mutually exclusive ideologies converge and give birth to the strange synthesis that currently animates the Ukrainian protests. This is the away-from-Moscow vector, which unites the century-old tradition of Ukrainian nationalism (not necessarily reactionary, but anti-imperialist, emancipatory), the steady line of post-Soviet Ukrainian elite, which has sought through its policy of nationalizing life to legitimate itself in the eyes of its subjects, and finally, perfectly founded fears of the aggressiveness of Russian corporations and Kremlin’s authoritarian power, which services them. Over the last decade, the growing aggression of the Russian elites, their efforts to inscribe Ukraine into the sphere of their commercial interests, sometimes expressed in (Russian) chauvinist propaganda, has almost deliberately reawakened all the myths of Ukrainian nationalism.

Today the question of undermining the nationalist hegemony in Ukraine is directly related to the ability of the Russian left and progressive forces to represent another Russia, a Russia, embodying those ideals of genuine democracy, equality, and social liberation, which back in the day also defined the Ukrainian liberation movement. It is precisely this version of “progressive patriotism” that holds, in my opinion, the best chance for our Ukrainian comrades. After all, slogans such as “Communists — on the gallows!” and “Death to the enemy!” (two of the most frequently chanted slogans at the ethnic nationalism) don’t represent a legitimate continuation of the tradition of Ivan Franko, Vladimir Vinnichenko, or Mikola Khvylovy.

The second component of the ideological centaurus of Ukraine’s right-wing opposition—the demand for democracy, people’s control, and transparency—must also be challenged by the left. It is precisely from the position of direct democracy that we must challenge the claims of the Yatsenyuk-Klichko-Tyahnynibok triumvirate to monopolize the movement as well as the physical censorship implemented by the commandoes of the ultra-nationalist Freedom party.

This article is also available in:

Translate this in your language

Like this Article? Share it!

Leave A Response